Wishful Thinking


John Franklin (Lead Guitar/ Vocal ), Tony Collier ( Bass / Vocal ), Kevin Scott ( Guitar / Vocal ), Brian Allen ( Drums/Vocal )

John, Kevin, Tony and Pete

John, Kevin, Tony and Pete

Now this was the classic lineup which recorded the famous album Hiroshima in 1970 with producer Lou Reizner at Chappell Recording Studios, London. It was released in the UK in 1971 on B&C Records, the original distributor of the famous CHARISMA label, in the US on AMPEX Records and in Germany on GLOBAL Records.

Tony Collier did the lead vocals on Hiroshima, We’re Gonna Change All This, I Wrote A Song and Ever Since I Can Remember, Kevin Scott did the rest of the songs.

Besides the 11 songs from the album, they recorded some other songs: LU LA LE LU by Klaus Voormann, CLEAR WHITE LIGHT by LINDISFARNE ‘s Alan Hull and HORIZONS co written by Petrina Lordan and John, which were all released on singles later.

In 1971 AMPEX Records released a promo-45 with United States of Europe 79 in both stereo and mono, (usual in the US). In Germany, Hiroshima was released as a single, backed with She Belongs To The Night ? and became a hit at that time. Later, in 1978 it became a huge hit selling in excess of 1,000,000 copies.

Going back to 1966, Wishful Thinking was formed from a band called The Emeralds featuring Daniel Boone, Brian Allen,Terry New and Roger Charles. In 1967 Kevin took over the lead vocals and later that same year, John was invited to take over from Terry on lead guitar. A couple of years later, in 1969, Kevin phoned Tony and invited him to join the band replacing Roger. That was the start of the present band.

Looking for something?

Use the form below to search the site:


All entries, chronologically...